Switching Hats.

9 03 2011

Now that my novella submission is off to the publisher, it’s time for me to switch hats to editing mode.

My friend, Shae Connor, has written her first novel length romance.  I’ve been a first reader for it, and now I’m doing one of the last edits. It’s a completely different mindset from writing. I’m finding I have to stop myself from changing word order a lot. There is nothing wrong with the way it’s ordered, it’s fine the way it is, it’s just not the way I’d word it.

That’s the unsung skill set of the editor isn’t it? Unless it’s going to clarify or add something to the narrative, you can’t impose your phrasing on it. It needs to sound like the author, not me. Now that I’ve acknowledged that, hopefully it will fade to the background in my mind.

It was  gray, drizzly and dark day today, though brightened considerably by a delivery. Books! Two of the books I ordered online from Indigo/Chapters online came today. Stein on Writing and Story Engineering While I do most of my reading in ebook form these days, I make an exception for books on writing, or reference books in general. There is a comfort in being able to note, flag and highlight the things that speak to me and that’s something that I don’t get from doing those things in digital form yet.

There is something to be said for being able to hold the physical book in your hand for reference. See Big Name Publishers? I buy actual books too. I’m also not murdering kittens because I consume ebooks.

It seems the publishers are slooooowly getting up to speed with that. I was watching the iPad 2 announcement last week and one of the first things they announced was the iBooks update and 100 Million books have been downloaded and Random House has finally been added to the iBook store.

Now if only the publishing industry as a whole would realize that the 100 million ebooks is  great thing.  People are reading and that can only do good things for the publishing industry. Love or hate the iPad, it makes purchasing the ebooks very easy and more of an impulse purchase than having to go to a physical bookstore. It’s something that Apple is very good at, making it an easy end-user experience to purchase content. They did it for music, they’re doing it for books and next up looks to be magazines.

I’m hoping with the recent release of the subscription model information that we’ll get more magazine content from the iPad from both mainstream and under appreciated zines that are out there and hard to find in the physical world.  You know, once the publishers have another freak out about how Apple is going to kill their industry. Again.

Speaking as and end user on this, just wake me up when the cat fight is over and I can subscribe to the magazines I want. Until then, all I’m going to hear is the trombone teachers voice from the Peanuts cartoons.

Reading on the iPad

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2011
HaleyWhitehall

I really enjoyed reading your post. I also have a difficult time resisting changing word order when editing others’ work. However, when word order is changed in my work I usually like it the way my beta readers suggested. Sometimes when writing my mind just can see a sentence any other way. I think word choice and order is important even if it doesn’t add clarity because it often affects the rhythm of prose. I usually ask before editing if people would like me to suggest word order changes or not.

9 03 2011
dmgracewrites

Hi Haley, thanks for commenting. I usually will do my editing with tracking of changes turned on, that way if the author doesn’t like the changing of word order I’ve done, all they have to do is reject the change and it’s back the way they had it.

I’m finding now that I’ve acknowledged the desire to do it, I’m only making changes where it’s absolutely necessary for ease of reading. If it doesn’t pass the read out loud test, then I’ll do the word switch and note why I’ve done it. Seems to be working so far. =)

Leave a Reply

