Adding Flesh to Bone

24 03 2011
It’s funny, when you’re working you think if only I could just write all the time. If I had nothing to do but write, I’d get so much done.
Then you don’t have anything to do and you can write all the time, but somehow you don’t.
I was on a sick leave from work for a month, during that time I got the work I just submitted a few weeks ago to a publisher re-written and edited. I was pretty much not able to leave the house, due to the nature of the illness, so it lent itself getting that work done.
The situation with the health got better during that time, but when it came time to go back to work, it flared back up in a big way. It’s one thing to say your work is making you sick, but it’s quite another when it actually does make you sick. Dealing with the absence management company that my work contracts for short term health issues was its own joy. The end result was me resigning from the company, because there may be many things I’ll just shut up and get on with it and ignore, but getting an ulcer is not one of them. I’m sorry, but you don’t pay me enough to deal with an ulcer on top of everything else you heaped on me for 10 years.
So now, since Monday, I have had all day to write.  How much writing have I gotten done?
Less than a page.
To be fair, I’ve plotted out two different ideas for storylines and done research on locations and plot points, but actually getting down to putting flesh on those bones? I barely have my toe nails covered with what I’ve done.
Maybe I just needed those three days to get over  the sudden loss of a job I’d put 10 years I can’t get back into.  I realized how little writing I’d done today, and now that I have , I’m determined to get back into a writing schedule. I’ll kick myself  later if I don’t use this downtime productively.  It’s not like it comes around a lot.
So, as of Tuesday I’m going to get myself on a schedule. Tuesday is because I’m on nephew duty this weekend and if you’ve ever taken care of a 6 and 4 year old, you know that nothing gets done when they’re up and you’re too tired to do anything when they’re asleep, other than fall into a low-level coma yourself.
Time to take this unexpected windfall of free time and  put it to use. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some flesh to be writing onto bones. Maybe I can get up to where toe meets foot tonight.
Actions

Information

One response

4 04 2011
Well… It Could Have Been Worse. | dmgracewrites

[…] Skip to content Home ← Adding Flesh to Bone April 4, 2011 · 9:16 pm ↓ Jump to […]

Leave a Reply

